Sponsored Links

#2015: INEC releases names of presidential candidates



The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has
released the names of the presidential candidates and their
running mates who will contest the 2015 elections.
Although there are 26 registered political parties in Nigeria,
only 11 have submitted names of candidates to run for the
The ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) submitted the
names of President Goodluck Jonathan and his vice,
Namadi Sambo, while the main opposition All Progressives
Congress (APC) submitted the names of Muhammadu
Buhari and Yemi Osinbajo as presidential and vice
presidential candidates.
Others are Oluremi Sonaiya and Saidu Bobboi for Kowa
Party, Ambrose Albert and Haruna Shaba for Hope
Democratic Party, Ganiyu Galadima and Balarabe Ahmed of
Allied Congress Party of Nigeria, ACPN, Rafiu Salau and
Clinton Cliff Akuchie for Alliance for Democracy, AD and
Godson Okoye and Haruna Adamu, for United Democratic
Party, UDP.
Others are Nani Ibrahim Ahmad and Obianuju Murphy-
Uzohue of African Democratic Congress, Martin Onovo and
Ibrahim Mohammed of National Conscience Party, NCP,
Tunde Anifowoshe-Kelani and Paul Ishaka Ofomile of Action
Alliance and Chekwas Okorie and Bello Umar of United
Progressive Party.
The Labour Party, LP, and the All Progressives Grand
Alliance, APGA, have already adopted the PDP candidate,
Goodluck Jonathan as their candidate as well.
Of all the 11 candidates, only Messrs. Jonathan and Buhari
were candidates in the last election in 2011. (Premium

No tags 0

No Comments Yet.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: