Sponsored Links

Pinnick Grateful to Jonathan, SGF, Others



*Says no victor, no vanquished
By Duro Ikhazuagbe
President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Amaju
Melvin Pinnick, yesterday expressed his appreciation to
President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, for the huge support
that the new NFF administration has received from the
country’s leader and the government since coming into
office 72 days ago.
Pinnick whose election was endorsed on Tuesday afternoon
by world football governing body, FIFA, also praised the
Secretary to Government of the Federation, Senator Anyim
Pius Anyim, Sports Minister, Dr. Tammy Danagogo, Director
General of the National Sports Commission, Hon. Gbenga
Elegbeleye and the sports committees of the National
Assembly ably led by Senator Adamu Gumba and Hon.
Godfrey Gaiya for their steadfastness in supporting the new
NFF team.
“We also must give kudos to the NFF Congress – the
supreme authority in Nigeria football – as well as the NFF
Executive Committee, NFF Management and Staff,
stakeholders of the game and the nation’s very vibrant
“There is no victor, no vanquished in this matter. Ours is
one big, marvelous family and here, football is the winner,“
observed the NFF chief.
Pinnick urged persons who feel aggrieved in any way
concerning the recent crises in Nigeria football to bury the
hatchet and join hands with the NFF Executive Committee
and Management in redefining football culture in Nigeria.
“There is so much to do, and only few persons cannot do it.
The support, prayers and contribution of everyone in the
huge football sector is needed for this administration to be
able to fulfill its mission and vision.
“I am pleading that people should forgive the NFF Executive
Committee for any of our actions or inactions since coming
on board, and let us jointly take Nigeria football to much
higher heights,” concludes Pinnick.
Last Tuesday, FIFA’s Secretary General, Jerome Valcke
conveyed the decision of the game’s governing body
backing the majority decision of the NFF 2014 Electoral
Appeals Committee, which upheld in its entirety, the NFF
2014 Elective Congress of 30th September, 2014, at which
Pinnick and others were elected into the NFF Executive
Committee for a four –year term.

No tags 0

No Comments Yet.

What do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: